An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

Small Business Development Program

on October 4, 2012

I have a dream. And it is to one day create my own business and run it successfully with my best friend, Aaron. So, I guess mine is half of a dream, with the other half belonging to him.

Today I attended an event sponsored by the Career Services at St. Edward’s University called “Small Business Development Program.” It lasted from 5:30 PM to about 7:00 PM. And, boy, did I get a lot of helpful information.

St. Edward’s University is in Austin, Texas. Yes, I have told you where I live. No, I don’t care at the moment. I may eventually. However, the point is the city: Austin. I’m sure every city has it’s own version of the “Economic Growth and Redevelopment Services Office” that came out to visit us. However, Austin is really standing out to me right now. The speaker that gave the presentation today spoke about all the free opportunities that are available in the city to people like me that are wanting to start their own small business eventually. Get this, did you know:

  • Over 90% of Austin businesses have less than 100 employees?
  • More than 80% of Austin businesses have less than 20 employees?

I didn’t. I thought it was an interesting fact.

Anyway, Austin invests in the small businesses because they bring so much income to the city. They also help in keeping unemployment down. So they provide a lot of services that are super helpful: free or low-cost classes, orientations, one-on-one business coaches, databases with information on networking, and an office to do research for your upstart company. How amazing is that? I never would have thought there would be such a wealth of information and help just out and about in Austin.

As a future businesswoman working to get her Bachelors in Business Administration, I am very excited to learn about the many possibilities of service and knowledge I can have. I want to be successful in life. Hopefully I will get there.

Now I just need a car to get me around Austin to the locations I need to go. It’d be nice if one just dropped out of thin air.

How about you, dear readers? Are you interested in starting your own business eventually? Have you heard of any amazing resources like these?

Leave a Reply

