An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

A Dream Brought To Life

on November 7, 2012

One of my last posts talked about adventures in a far away place and study abroad options that I would love to have the opportunity to go on. While I will not be taking a semester or a year to study in a foreign county, I have been giving the amazing opportunity of going to Japan for a 10-day trip during my Spring Break in this upcoming year.

Yes, I was accepted into the class that has this wonderful study abroad component. I am so thrilled to be able to take such a trip and learn more about the culture of the business world in Japan. And to just be able to go to Japan at all. It seems like a dream brought to life.

The only down points is trying to find money to make up for the extra cost that goes along with the course. My loan covers most of the charges that will be brought on by the extra $1,500, but I still need to earn funding for textbooks next semester and for passport fees. I am now working at the desk in my residence hall, but I will not be paid for a few more weeks. Still, I would like to find a way to earn even more money. I feel bad making my mom worry about my finances in regards to schooling and keeping enough money to be able to live well. She is also concerned about me saving money up so that I will be able to afford an apartment after college. I am too.

If anyone has any advice or thoughts on how to earn some more money, I would very much appreciate to hear them. Please leave a comment below and let me know what you have to say. Or, please share an experience of when you traveled abroad and what you thought of the entire event. I would love to learn more about what people have thought of their experiences abroad.

2 responses to “A Dream Brought To Life

  1. After the experience abroad, you will realize that the money worries were worth it to have the opportunity to travel around a different part of the world. Another great way of coming up with funds is asking family and friends to contribute towards your costs for the trip/spring semester. Ask grandma to buy your passport or Aunt Sally to buy the textbook for one of your classes. You will be surprised by some of the odd jobs that people can come up with to help you raise funds. It might not be a lot but it is better than nothing! And most of all – enjoy the trip!!

    • Thank you so much! I appreciate the tips you have brought up. I guess it’s always good to ask for the support of those around you.

      I am definitely excited to experience the culture of Japan and explore the city that we will be staying it. I am so glad to have been given such a wonderful opportunity.

Leave a Reply

