An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

30,000 Words

on November 14, 2012

Writing a book is a struggle at times, but I am finding NaNoWriMo this year to come easily to me. I think a part of that is because I really don’t have a plan – I am just writing. Of course, there are specific plot points and arcs that are in my head, but I am not letting the fear of getting from one point to another prevent me from writing. In fact, I really have no fear of that “write now” (Haha! Lame joke, but it’s the best I can come up with on the spot all of a sudden).

As of today, I am just past 30,000 words. It’s exciting. Only thirteen days and I am 96 pages into a book that I am actually loving at the moment? It’s a flawless feeling and I am just so proud. I have not been able to do this before and I think if I was still where I was last year, I would not be able to be so into my book. Mostly because I had work keeping me busy in my free time, but partly because I think I have grown as an individual since then.

There is no thing in the world that can replace the feeling you get from writing something and seeing it blossom into a full book. I am not quite at that spot, but believe me when I tell you that I am so extraordinarily excited. Life is so wonderful right now and NaNoWriMo is just really helping to boost my confidence.

Plus, I can’t wait for the prize of finishing where you get five print copies of your book. 😉

How are all the other NaNoers out there? Even if you aren’t working on NaNoWriMo, I’d love to hear from fellow writers sharing their thoughts and feelings about writing and finishing a book.

Leave a Reply

