An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

Mission Complete

on November 21, 2012

And so on the 20th day of November, it was passed that I should reach the 50,000 word mark of my NaNoWriMo Novel.

I think that’s a really good fancy way of saying, “Booyah! I reached my NaNo goal!” I’ve been going overdrive this year on my novel for National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo, for you newcomers). I made an excel chart that shows me what my goal is each day. I made it so that I could see my overall word count, the number of words that I wrote each day, and how far ahead I was from the actual goal of the day. I don’t know if that helped push me, or maybe the fact that I have more free time than I used to. However, I ended up getting to my 50,000 goal eleven days before it is necessary. Let’s just say that I am kind of proud.

Does this mean that I am finished with the book? Not at all. There is still a little more until the end of the novel – I’m reaching the pivotal climax of the story. However, I have a lot of editing to do. Because I was so focused on getting my word count out, I just wrote whatever came to me. I didn’t even have a plot planned out – just basic ideas. I didn’t even touch on all the main points I had wanted to. I’m considering my NaNo a very detailed basic outline for the final novel that I plan to put together. Isn’t December supposed to be NaNoEdMo (National Novel Editing Month)? Who knows, maybe I’ll even come up with a sequel.

Good luck to everyone out there still working on their NaNo novels and congrats to all of those who have finished!

Leave a Reply

