An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

The Future – What I Plan To Do

on November 22, 2012

It is scary to consider the fact that in a year and a half I will be graduating from college with my Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration. It seems so far away, but I know the time that it takes to reach that point in my life will fly by. I am finding it increasingly important to think about what I will do with this degree once I am out in the world.

It’s extremely hard to decide what one best thing that I will do. There are so many hobbies, important memories, and experiences that will lead me to the correct “career.” I would really like to work my way into the administration team of a large corporation and earn enough money to eventually one day start my own business. I know that my dream may seem a little big, but I find it is sometimes best to think big. If you don’t shoot for the stars, you won’t reach them.

In my mind, however, there is another thing that keeps coming back to me and that is: how am I going to give back to others? I know that it isn’t considered the “norm” for those in business to want to give. I think it’s a pretty bad stereotype. I’ve seen many people that do things that help individuals in their community. I want to make sure that whatever business I end up working for has a strong connection with the community – perhaps it donates some of their revenue to charities or goes out of its way to help the homeless. If I find that the organization that I work with does not have a way to help others, I think I might get involved. The Make-A-Wish Foundation is something that I really want to aid. In fact, I have plans for a service project in my upstart café that will help to donate money to this organization. I am still working on the idea, but I really think that it can be at least a little help.

Looking forward to the future both excites and scares me. I don’t know what to expect. There is a goal in mind, but I know that fate doesn’t always give you exactly what you want to. My dream is to create a café and bar establishment with my best friend. We want to attract a lot of different customers and give people a nice place to come to when they need to get away. It would be wonderful if this eventually happens. I think that would be the most pivotal point in my life.

And you, dear readers? What are your plans for the future?

Leave a Reply

