An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

I Can’t Describe My Emotions Right Now

on December 18, 2012

I really can’t. At least, not well enough.

I am working on writing – which is enough a good emotion for me to begin with. Writing is my favorite thing and it has been too hard to do for too long. I am overjoyed that I am able to work on something that I am really passionate about and I can feel that this will be really great when I am able to finish it.

The book I am working on is really great. It’s original – I’ve built a whole world that is based on something I really love. I worked on perfectly the storyline a few years back and I think it really has a great punch. There is romance and adventure and deception and amazingness. Reading the few parts that I wrote before makes me tingle with excitement.

And I am really excited. I have a code through NaNoWriMo to have five free print copies of a book from CreateSpace. While I should use that on my NaNo from this year, I realized that the storyline made no sense. So instead of trying to rethink the storyline that I didn’t work on to begin with, I am going to work on this book instead that I have been anticipating completing for years. I am only about 11,000 words in and there is still so much story to tell, but I cannot stop smiling as the words flow from my fingers into the word document.

I did tell you that I built the world, right? I have notes upon notes inside a journal that I’ve determined is just for this book, which I believe I had determined at one point to call Crescendo. There are words that I made up for the world, a specific type of lifestyle, a certain form of magic, and an entire religion that circles into the book. I am not a very religious person, but it was really fun to discover what was important to this world that I came upon. It took a while to get it just right – I can see that in the way my notes transformed about the religion – but it turned out very well. The character development is good, but I am going to work to get it to amazing. And then I shall have a real book. And I shall get it published. No ifs, ands, or buts. I won’t rest until I see it in print.

Maybe that will help me pay for college next year. That is another thing I need to focus on, but that will be a thing for another time. Right now is the time to write. Write now.

Leave a Reply

