An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

A Heart’s Song

on January 2, 2013

Happy New Year!!!

I hope that everyone had a great transfer into the new year and that you have luck in the coming 365 days that await you. However, while I could focus this entry on resolutions and the fun time I had bringing in the New Year with friends, there is a different topic that I would like to discuss. It has a little something to do with music.

There is just something so spectacular about music. I’m sure you’ve heard it all before from the many people that completely enthused with the world of melodies and song. Music can touch a person’s soul with or without words, can make you laugh or cry, bring up a memory that had long been forgotten, or even sing you to sleep. The notes and the way they are constructed into a melody can touch the heart of a person of any language – I know plenty of songs in a foreign language that are really catchy and beautiful.

I wrote a song just before Thanksgiving – I was up late into the night that Tuesday before my parent’s came to pick me up from St. Ed’s. It started with a simple picture and some words on it: “Sometimes it’s hard to know what you are doing here.” I don’t know why, but I was suddenly filled with the desire to write a song from that. So I did. I had so much fun, that I even added in harmonies and little fun parts. It was a great night and I am still so proud of the first ever song I worked on – even if it’s not professionally done or will ever be heard by the masses. There was such a rush in working on it.

On Sunday, my friend Amanda let me come over to her house so she could help with the song. I had asked her if she would create some piano music to go along with it. I was nevertheless overjoyed when she said yes. During our “song time” we changed a few different little parts of the song – the rhythm and notes on some of the phrases. And she constructed piano music to complement it, to complete it. The main reason I am bringing this up is because of the wonderful feeling that accompanied this “song time” (of which I am sure to continue calling this musical session). I just felt so complete, so overwhelmed by this feeling of accomplishment and beauty and happiness. It’s quite a rush, but a good one. It’s just pure beauty and perfection. This feeling was so strong, that I was inspired to write in my music novel for several scenes that night (wrote 2,000 words!). It was absolutely fantastic.

Needless to say, I think the song is coming along well. We are both going to practice our parts and then get back together to finish it. I’m pretty sure I need to practice a lot, but I hope that it will end up turning out beautifully. Wish us luck and I hope that I will be able to share this song with all of you in due time.

2 responses to “A Heart’s Song

  1. avanigalande says:

    Good luck with the song
    Even I write songs and I know exactly what you mean by ‘such a rush’ 🙂
    Good job!

Leave a Reply

