An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

A Week of Miracles Amidst Stacks of Homework

on January 31, 2013

The beginning of this week was extremely stressful for me. It’s only the third week of classes, but homework is starting to pile up and I have my first two tests next week in Business Statistics and the Legal Environment of Business. I’m taking eighteen credit hours – a full course load that anybody would deem stressful. However, it really helps because I’m so interested in the classes that I am taking – five business and one english composition. The English class isn’t in my major, but, as you all know by now, I love to write. I wasn’t looking forward to the class when I was told I needed to take it, but I am glad I am now. I’m really wanting to refine my writing and try to finish Crescendo before the summer so that I can work on getting it published.

Another stress besides homework was this incident I had on Amazon. Now, I love the website and I will never speak wrong of it, but I purchased textbooks this semester from third-party sellers and had a terrible thing happen with the one person I wanted to return it to. I refused the package at home – never even touched it! – and the seller said that it had returned with a dress inside. A dress? I’m not even sure. I filed a claim, and it took about a week, but I finally received feedback today saying that my claim had been granted. I will be receiving my refund soon, which is money I need as a college student. Amazon was amazing in their help and I found their customer service really supportive. Like I said, I can’t speak wrong of Amazon because they are fantastic.

My other big news trickled down to me over the past two days. My roommate and I both applied to be Resident Assistants (RAs) next year. We were so happy to find out that we made it to the first round of interviews, which will last three hours tomorrow afternoon. I cannot wait! However, that is not the only interview I will be having this week. On Saturday, I am meeting with the founder of NeedTo.com to interview for an internship I applied to. I was ecstatic when I found out. Needless to say, my stomach is turning into a pile of butterflies. I just need to take a deep breath, relax, and know that I will do the best that I can in both situations.

I also made the Dean’s List for the Fall Semester, which further provided excitement for me. Amidst the stress, all of these opportunities and knowledges have really made my week. I’m so blessed to be here in Austin and to be able to do what I am doing now. If I had to go back in time and make the choice over, I would not change my decision to come to St. Edward’s. It’s definitely been the greatest thing I could wish for.

So, my dear readers, what is something that has got you all bubbly or smiling? Even if there’s nothing big going on right now, remember that the little things count and that all good comes in time. I assure you, you will get your week of miracles – even if there’s a little bit of stress or tears in-between them. Keep your head high and you will definitely be on top of the world soon enough.

For those in school, good luck with the new semester. For everyone, good luck. You are amazing and I hope I can hear about some good things that have been happening to you.

Leave a Reply

