An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

Proud To Be Single

on February 16, 2013

It’s a few days late, but Happy Valentine’s Day!

I realize that this day is important for a lot of people – either because they are in a relationship or because they are single. It’s a day to either celebrate being with the person you love or to despair over being alone. There is another choice, though, for those without a beau: relish in the freedom of being single. That’s what I chose.

I will say, my Valentine’s Day wasn’t really spectacular. It was really good, though, especially when compared to the horrors of the day last year. I interviewed with two of the RD’s on campus for the RA position that I have applied for (I’ll find out on Friday if I have made it!). I had a test – it was difficult, but I feel sort of confident on it. Then, I worked from 7-10pm that night. Still, I really enjoyed the day.

Valentine’s Day isn’t really a huge day for me. I don’t have someone to celebrate it with – and I’m proud of the fact that I am single. It doesn’t mean that I’m not loved, it just means that I’m waiting for the right guy to love me. And he’ll come eventually. For the moment, I’m just going to enjoy being me and living life to the fullest. That’s what life is about – living.

So, all of you single people out there, don’t worry about anything. You’ll find someone. They’re making their way to you – slowly but surely. Right now, just enjoy life. Buy yourself some chocolate. Sing in your room and dance crazily to your favorite song. Read a book. Hang out with your friends. Just live. And have a great time! 🙂

5 responses to “Proud To Be Single

  1. Samantha says:

    People put so much pressure on themselves on Valentine’s Day. At some point you just have to sit back and realize how ridiculous all the hype is. Being single definitely isn’t the end of the world, and it’s good you realize that. 🙂

  2. thefroglyprince says:

    I worked at a store valentines day morning and got a good laugh at all the guys coming in to buy stuff at like 4 am. haha

Leave a Reply

