An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

I’m Back! :)

on March 22, 2013

First of all, I want to note that I am still alive.

Second, I apologize for not keeping up with my daily posts for the March of Happiness and for not updating more quickly. It has been hectic and I had no time while I was in Japan to do anything at all with regard to my blog. I am finally getting some time to sit down and write a post, in which I do realize that I have a lot to catch up on.

First of all, to March of Happiness. I was going to try and set up the posts before I left for Spring Break, but I was so bogged down by schoolwork and travel preparation that I was unable to do that. Instead, I’ll make a list now and let you see all that has made me happy since the last time I posted on her.

  • Day 8: Music
  • Day 9: Safe Flights
  • Day 10: Japan
  • Day 11: Beppu Hot Springs
  • Day 12: Tea Ceremony
  • Day 13: Shopping
  • Day 14: Travel
  • Day 15: Hello Kitty
  • Day 16: Freedom
  • Day 17: St. Edward’s
  • Day 18: Sleep
  • Day 19: Clockwork Princess
  • Day 20: Japanese Food
  • Day 21: Chinese Food
  • Day 22: Warmth

I’ll give you some better posts for the rest of the month, so please bear with me as I continue to post about March.

Next, Japan. There are no words that can appropriately say how wonderful Japan is. I really enjoyed my week spent there. While we were eternally busy Ā – half of the day with school-planned activities and then half of the day hanging with our Buddies (students from the school there) – it was great to be involved in so many things. We went on business trips (got to see Nissan cars being built!), did cultural activities (tea ceremony, flower arrangement, meditation, etc.), shopping (they have amazing malls, bee tee dubs – mall plus a grocery store installed!), and lots of food experimenting. I had been extremely nervous about the food at first; when you think of Japanese food, fish and shellfish is the first thing you probably think of (I mean,Ā sushi, hellooooo). Dead wrong. There’s so much good food – real ramen, cucumber sushi, beef sushi, miso soup, rice, banana ice cream crepes (those were heaven!)ā€¦ The list goes on. Korean food – totally there, too. I didn’t realize that Korean Barbecue has metal chopsticks. Those are the coolest! And the Buddies, the students from APU that went to events and other things with us, were absolutely amazing. I made some wonderful friends. Also, let me tell you that there is a theme park called Harmonyland outside of Beppu. Guess what the theme park is for? Hello Kitty. Yeah, you read that correctly. HELLO. KITTY. Honestly, that theme park was way more amazing than I was thinking. And so much Hello Kitty.

Needless to say, I had a great time in Japan. I cried several times because I had to say goodbye to my new friends and goodbye to the country. I really hope that I get the chance to travel again someday, and definitely to Beppu – or Japan in general. If you get the chance to go there, definitely grab that chance and take it. Travel. Even if it’s not Japan. Travel where you can.

Did anyone else have a good Spring Break? Or relaxing? I hope you did! Please, feel free to share the adventures you went on over the break.

6 responses to “I’m Back! :)

  1. Samantha says:

    I was wondering where you had gone! I am glad you had fun in Japan. I’ve been doing a lot of studying over spring break (only two more days till I’m back at school :/), but that’s alright. At least things haven’t been piling up. It sounds like Japan was such a great experience for you. I hope you are planning on posting pictures! I wouldn’t feel bad about not posting, you were too busy having an experience of a lifetime. šŸ˜‰

    • Yeah, I disappeared for a little while, but like you said, it was definitely for an important experience. šŸ™‚

      Studying over Spring Break?! Sounds like you are being very productive! It is definitely good to make sure that everything doesn’t pile up on top of you. I hope that you are able to get a small break, though, so you can just relax and enjoy yourself. šŸ™‚

      Japan was definitely great. Yes, I will have to post photos for you all to see! The area we stayed in was on Kyushu, in a city called Beppu, and the area was absolutely gorgeous. I’ll probably try to post another entry tomorrow to share. šŸ™‚

      • Samantha says:

        Unfortunately, I’m not the best at “taking it easy”. I tend to go full steam until I crash/get sick/emotional breakdown/pint of Ben & Jerry’s. Yeah. šŸ˜‰ I have been doing some relaxing though. Lots of laying in bed and watching bad TV. Can’t wait to see the pictures.

      • Aw! I totally understand that, though. It’s really easy to just keep going and going. I’m glad that you are able to get a little bit of relaxing in, though. You definitely deserve it. šŸ™‚

        Yes, I’ll work on making a post sometime tomorrow with the pictures. There are so many, so I’ll have to go through and find the best ones. lol

  2. thefroglyprince says:

    Welcome back. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

