An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

Print Versus Electronic

on July 4, 2013

Technology has boosted education into the limelight. There are so many ways to learn different things – online courses, videos on varying websites (but especially YouTube), video games, etc. Soon enough we’ll be learning from hologram teachers and having textbooks downloaded straight into our minds. But we’re not at that stage yet and we still have to adapt to online textbooks.

As a booklover, I’ve always held a prejudice against electronic books. You can’t feel the pages in your hands, breathe in the stories from the paper, or carry it around with you to show off to the world. Sure, you can carry it around on your Nook or Kindle, but it’s not the same at all. What happens if the entire Internet goes down or the home system is messed with by a virus? It’s gone then. While these thoughts don’t apply so much for textbooks, I still think that the paper version is much better. It’s easier to flip through pages and mark important pieces of information. Using the electronic version entails pressing buttons and waiting for the page to load up. Flipping through the pages of a physical textbook is just that – flipping through the pages.

I’ve had several classes where my textbook has an online version. Sure, it’s okay when I know exactly what page and what information I need to look at, but I still find myself consulting the printed text when I need to do hardcore searching for information. It’s easier.

Maybe I’m biased, but I think I have the right mindset. Don’t get me wrong, technology is great. I absolutely love it. But there are just some things that the electronic version of life can’t replace and I’m dead set on the idea that books in paper should remain that way. Sorry, trees.

Leave a Reply

