An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

“Life isn’t about finding yourself. Life is about creating yourself.”

on July 10, 2013

I honestly have no idea who that quote is by, but I probably should. That quote is my whole life. Honestly, it’s so easy to sit around and just say, fate will bring my destiny to me. I don’t have to do anything. That’s such a lie. You have to do things. If you just sit around, you won’t ever become the best you that you can possibly be. In fact, if you sit around waiting to be found, you’re sort of like a couch potato. Nobody wants to be a potato for life… or at least I hope they don’t.

So, how do you create yourself? Reach for every opportunity that comes your way. That job you want to apply for? Do it. The worst that can happen is that you don’t get the job. I mean, you wouldn’t have gotten it if hadn’t applied anyways. That boy you want to go out with? Don’t wait for him to say something. Make your way up the ladder that is your life, finding the most amazing chances that you can. You can be something amazing, but you have to put a little bit of effort into it.

It’s so easy to be bitten by the bug of self-doubt. I’ve been bitten by it plenty of times; in fact, I probably spend most of my time doubting myself. I’m not good enough. I can’t do this well. They don’t need my help; I’m sure they want someone who would actually do this correctly. I’ll just mess it up. Do I let that stop me? NO. Yeah, I’ll get bothered by it and spend the whole time worrying. But I’m going to do my best and try to be something. 

Keep your goals in mind. Don’t just reach for the stars. Maneuver through the gaps between them and reach for something much, much bigger. The whole universe is out there. Go make it yours.

Leave a Reply

