An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

The Life of a Post-Grad

on May 18, 2014

Image

 

May 10, 2014. A date to remember. The day I walked across the stage at the Frank Erwin Center in Austin, Texas and graduated from St. Edward’s University. The day I officially entered the real world. 

College was an experience, full of highs and lows. Transferring to St. Edward’s University took my world and turned it upside down – in more ways than one.

I was able to make life-long friends, ones that I cannot ever live without (and I’m not sure how I survived this long without them). I met amazing people, worked with the most fantastic mentor, and got to work several jobs (three at one time!).

I traveled to Japan, opened myself up to eating new foods, and went to a theme park themed for Hello Kitty and friends (Sanrio, really, but they’re one and the same to me).

I got to see my absolutely favorite band (Icon For Hire, I’m talking about you) and saw my first kpop group live in Dallas (and one of them told me my dress was pretty). One of my new friends grew my addiction to kpop. 

I also learned that things don’t last forever, that friendships fade and people aren’t always who you think they are. That people leave this world for another and just when your heart is on the verge of crumbling away into nothing, things do get better. That when you have a pet, you have to eventually say goodbye and it hurts like nothing else in the world. 

I learned to love myself, to tell myself that I am perfect the way that I am. And when you have been telling yourself that you aren’t good enough for a while, it means so much more when you can finally look at yourself and say “I’m wonderful.” 

Some things didn’t change: my love for all things Disney and giraffes, my urge to always eat Chinese food, my adoration for fashion and good clothing, my want to travel the world… 

College. It’s a four-year experience. And despite all of the homework and stress and craziness, there’s a lot of good. I’m a better person because of the experiences I went through and the people I met. And I hope to convey that to whoever hires me in the future. As I continue searching for jobs (while heading back to the theater for the summer), I’ll remember everything that I’ve learned. 

Hard work. Dedication. Respect. Fun. And the importance of never giving up. 

Because I know I can do anything if I put my mind to it. And I will. I’ll do everything I can. 

I’m gonna go places and I’ll write down every step of the way. It may take a while and it may not be exactly what I want it to be, but good things are coming. I know I can handle the bad, so I just need to keep my eye on the rainbow and enjoy the journey. 

You, too. Sometimes the rain may pour down and you might be beaten down by hail, but stand tall and keep on going. It’ll get better. There’s good coming for you. Enjoy college. Remember everything you learn (though, I don’t expect you to remember all your classroom material; I know I don’t) and go places. I know you can.

And I know you will. 

Leave a Reply

