An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

The “Interview Spark”

on May 19, 2014

It’s that time. Rather, it has been that time. 

Graduation means job search. Time to take that final step from student to real adult by finding a full-time job. And what comes before reaching that final goal? 

Interviews. 

Within a week after graduation, I was able to get three interviews. Two for marketing companies and one for Apple (which is my pick). It seems kind of funny, but my interviews actually got better as I went through each one. How do I know that? 

There’s a little something I like to call the “interview spark.” It’s easy to tell when this is happening, because there’s a bit of life to the interview. It’s easier to talk. There’s a “spark” because you connect with the person interviewing you. And you just feel confident about yourself. 

This “interview spark” is a good thing. I can’t say that it means you are going to get the job or internship, but there’s a higher chance of you getting it. In fact, of all the positions I’ve had to interview for, I’ve definitely felt an “interview spark.” 

For example, these past three interviews gave me a different level of confidence. My first one was not that great, but I’d like to think it was because it was my first interview after graduation (and I’d just found out that the job wasn’t quite what I thought it was before). 

My second interview was little better. It was easier to talk and I felt like I was doing well, but not fantastic. My third interview (with Apple) definitely felt like my best.

I feel like another way to tell an interview is going well is when you discuss subjects that aren’t related to the position. When you can get off subject and still tell them a little about you and how well you have succeeded at various points in life. 

Maybe this is just me. Still, I haven’t gone on too many interviews in my life and I have a lot to learn about them. 

So, for now, I’ll just keep my head high and keep on going. Keep my confidence up. Know that I can do whatever I put my mind to. 

And you, dear readers, should do your best as well. In fact, I know you will. If you’ve been going on interviews, do you have any advice or experiences you want to share with others? Let us know in the comments below! 

Leave a Reply

