An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

Mission Complete

on November 19, 2014

I have officially gotten a job.

Yes, you heard that right. I was offered a position as a Clinical Education Associate at the University of St. Augustine in Austin. I finished up the paperwork yesterday and honestly cannot wait until my first day of work on December 1st.

So now what?

I’ve graduated from college and scored the winning job. What else is there for me to do other than work and pay off my miniature mountain of student loans?

  • Volunteer work, definitely. I am aiming to volunteer with the Make-A-Wish Foundation as an event planner and help create a wonderful experience for people using the program. My other goal is to volunteer with Austin Pets Alive! and help out with the animals that they are taking care of. Both organizations do extremely important work and I want to be a part of that.
  • Writing! Right now I’m working on National Novel Writing Month, but as soon as December hits (and I’ve finished my 20 pages of screenplay needed to turn in on the 5th) I have set my sights on completing a novel I came up with in high school. Now that I have all this extra time, I can actually focus on doing what I love.
  • Graduate school. I honestly hate being out of school – the free time bores me immensely! But I also miss the chaos and problem solving and analytical skills I needed to use on a daily basis. One of the greatest things about my new job is that I can get a discount on tuition with Laureate Education for online classes. I think that will be amazing!
  • Reading and video games and music and everything else. Did I mention that I have a lot of free time now? I can practically do anything I want.

So yes, I’ve achieved a milestone in my life. My first real job is about to start, right after a mini-vacation with Thanksgiving. This is the beginning of the rest of my life and I’m going to make it count.

2 responses to “Mission Complete

  1. Hey! Congratulations! 🙂 Best of luck and enjoy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

