An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

Personal Branding: Who Do You Want To Be?

on April 23, 2015

Or rather, what part of you do you want the world to see?

Despite all the talk about “being yourself,” it’s quite important to show off how likable you can be. It’s not that you have to separate your true personality and the face you show the world – they can be one and the same. In fact, they should be.

How do you correctly portray your character and personality?

In the long run, it’s up to you. There are a million and one ways to show yourself off in a favorable light. Probably more. Have a good public rep, strengthen your LinkedIn with certifications and volunteer hours, work towards networking in the field that you endeavor to end up in…

There really is more to it than that, though. I like to think of it as deeper. Who do you want to be? Who do want to be?

Honestly, I have no idea. I can say that there’s a certain goal I am aiming for, but I will always want to take myself further as soon as I hit the mark of completion. I know I am not the same.

So, for now, the goal of branding is to increase one’s strengths and increases of success.

  • Grow your confidence by wearing clothes you feel comfortable and powerful in.
  • Eat foods that provide you with the strength to get through the day – and foods that won’t cause you to crash later.
  • “Fake it ’til you make it.” Even if you don’t feel confident, take on the demeanor as if you are. Straighten your back, lift your head. Look fear in the eye and stare it down.
  • Make small talk with strangers at that event you don’t want to go to. Be kind to everyone you meet. Have fun.
  • Keep a strong social media platform. Don’t blog or tweet anything you wouldn’t want your parents to read. People that want to stay in contact with you will quickly judge you based on the content of the social media you run (which is sad, but true).
  • On the other hand, don’t be afraid to blog or post things that you want. Just make sure to keep professional and leisure separate – maybe have two accounts that you use.
  • Smile, smile, smile. It brightens up the room and can be super contagious.

There are tons of personal branding posts out there (like this one on Forbes and this cool Personal Branding Blog). Seriously, it’s a lot to wade through but you find some great content out there.

For me, my personal branding is going to consist of some real changes in my lifestyle and the way I portray myself on a daily basis. I’m talking more confidence and a cleaner, crisper look. Be excited. Change is good.

What about you, my dear reader? Have you thought about your personal brand? Please share down below!

Leave a Reply

