An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

I’m Sorry

on May 18, 2015

I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I’m sorry…

These words no longer seem to convey the very meaning that they were created for.  An apology is useless if you say it a million times a day, for seemingly meaningless reasons. I find myself a victim of this quite constantly.

I recently read an article on Huffington Post titled ‘I’m Sorry Is My Armor by Jennifer Malise and it really speaks to me.

I’m sorry has become an armor that can be worn at all times. It’s not bad to be kind and cautious in dealing with others, but sometimes the fear of hurting people or doing something wrong is greater than the actual problem.

Fear, as Jennifer states, is something that keeps you small. Keeps you down and withholds you from every single goal you’ve ever had.

My dear readers, we don’t need to be doing that. We don’t deserve to be afraid.

I can’t preach what I don’t practice, but this is something that I’ve been working on for a while. To stop worrying about what will go wrong and instead focusing on what will go right. To stop apologizing for meaningless things without losing my kindness and respect for those around me. To just live and enjoy every second of it.

Dear readers, let’s stop apologizing for things we don’t need to. Let’s empower ourselves to take that next step and rise up in this world together.

I’m not sorry to be strong and you shouldn’t be either.

Leave a Reply

