An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

Goodbye, 2015

on December 31, 2015

Bring it on, 2016.

While I can’t say that this was an absolutely terrible year, I am looking forward to starting fresh in 2016. A lot of things happened this year to help me progress in growing myself and becoming a “real” adult: got my own apartment, made it one year through my first full-time job out of college, dealt with bills and refinancing my stupid student loans, etc. I also got to go to Disney and went on a business trip in Florida. Got a second job.

On my list of New Year’s resolutions, I only maybe completed one – vacation and travel. And it was really only because of the business trip I went on. I really don’t want that to be the case next year. I don’t want to make resolutions that I forget about or give up on. So, in order to make next year more manageable, I’ve decided to take something from the goal planning assignments I had in college: make it measurable.

  • Write one chapter or 5,000 words a week (whichever is more manageable at the time)
  • Write one blog post each week (and more, if I can)
  • Learn to play one new song on my violin each month
  • Learn two new words each day (in other languages)
  • Have at least two Youtube videos to put up each month
  • Make 25 new contacts in Austin and elsewhere that I keep in touch with
  • Read at least three books a month
  • Spend an hour each week learning calligraphy

The list will grow, I’m sure. Of course, there are other things I want to do: travel again, learn to spend less money, get a job where I don’t have to work two jobs to pay all my bills, volunteer, be healthy, etc. Those are things that I really should be working on anyway and shouldn’t be a New Years resolution.

For some reason, I feel like 2016 is going to bring us some fantastic things. This will be our year.

So, dear readers, what about you? Feel free to share your resolutions (or methods to coming up with them) and hopes for the new year.

2 responses to “Goodbye, 2015

  1. madelineeva says:

    You’re still playing your violin! Good for you. I sold mine ….

Leave a Reply

