An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

4-2-4 Cleansing Method

on November 30, 2016

I kept reading about double cleansing and the 4-2-4 method, so I decided I’d give it a shot. I’ve been double cleansing for months and I’ve found it pretty effective. My skin looks a lot better than it used to (sorry, no pics!).

I started the 4-2-4 method about two and a half weeks ago. Basically, you massage your face with an oil for 4 minutes, lather soap on top of that for 2 minutes, and then rinse for another 4 minutes. Air dry after. Simple, right?

Originally I was using coconut oil for the first step, but I switched over to Lancôme’s cream-to-oil cleanser when I went home for the holidays. I used this with their cream-to-foam cleanser for step 2.

It took a few days until I really seeing the effects and then I really saw them. My face broke out pretty bad around my mouth, chin, and nose. At this point, I was starting to feel like I was wasting too much water with step 3, so I switched it up and did the following: rinsed face with water for about a minute or so until the soap was gone, iced my face with an ice cube until it melted, and then air dried.

Honestly, it takes about as long to ice my face as it did to wash off the soap/oil, so I feel like it isn’t much of a difference since my skin is constantly wet with either method. I like icing, though, because it helps reduce inflammations and makes my skin glowy afterward.

My skin started looking a bit better around the holidays (just a little over a week in), but didn’t really look better until the beginning of this week. Of course, I also have been slacking the past couple of days, so I unfortunately have some new breakouts.

However, I would give this cleansing method a thumbs up. I feel like it actually worked to get some of the dirt out of my pores. I will definitely keep trying this and see the effects of sticking with it for a longer amount of time. I’m hoping that means smaller pores and clearer skin in my future.

Have you tried the 4-2-4 cleansing method before? Any other methods you like and want to share? Comment below!

5 responses to “4-2-4 Cleansing Method

  1. Oh this sounds like a great method! We recently started using cleansing oils and love it! xx, Britta & Carli from http://twinspiration.co/

  2. […] I wrote a post late last year on my personal blog about a 4-2-4 method I was trying out (details here). The first step of my face cleansing begins with an oil wash – my choice has and always will […]

Leave a Reply

