An Adventurer's Dream

4 out of 5 giraffes recommend this blog

Vacay to Paradise: Preparations

on May 11, 2017

Vacation. The two words that come to mind when this word is uttered are: excitement and money.

I’m not usually one to take a long vacation that involves me going anywhere other than my parents house. I’ve just honestly never had the money. But starting as of this year, I’ve decided to make travel an important part of my life. I work hard, so I deserve some time to have fun, right?

This year marks my first real, long vacation where I’m traveling by myself. I’ll be with friends in between the flight there and the flight back, but it just screams of excitement. I’m an adult now.

So where’s the vacay at?

CALIFORNIA.

(Not sorry for the all caps)

I’ll be visiting the San Jose-San Francisco area for the first part of the trip, where I’ll see my first friend (best friend from college/unofficial sister). Then I’ll fly down to San Diego and take the train up to the San Marcos area to visit my second friend (my non-blood twin). We’ll be taking a trip past LA to Universal Studios.

To see Harry Potter World and everything else that the parks might hold. Thrilled is an understatement. I’m still trying to plan the perfect outfit to show off my Ravenclaw affiliation.

As with any big trip, there are a list of things that I have to do. I shudder just thinking about the money that I’m spending (thank god for bonuses, right?).

Never the less, flights are booked and I still have a few things to get settled before May 29th.

  • Buy a Suitcase: My last suitcase was super bright, colorful, and all sorts of fun. Then the wheel broke as I was heading to the bus to leave Japan. It sucked. So I need to get a new one but I don’t really want it to be plain and boring – there needs to be some life to it.
  • Plan the Outfits: Come on, I’m a fashion/style blogger. I have to look the part as I travel. Since it’s going to be the beach and summer and California, I’m thinking of a cute maxi, maybe a romper, and a sundress. Shorts and a comfy top. Maybe a big, wide-rimmed hat to help keep the sun off of my face.
  • Get the Hair Did: Okay, definitely not a vacation requirement. But a birthday requirement. And maybe a bit wanted for vacation as well. I need to get my side bangs back and want to have my hair frame my face with some feathered layers.
  • Call the Bank: It’s a requirement to get with your bank before traveling. What would be worse than trying to buy the perfect souvenir and your card is declining because your account has been frozen? Always call the bank.
  • Buy Train Tickets: I mentioned the train, right? Freaking excited. And also terrified. My goal is to plan my train route in the next couple of days and book tickets. And then hopefully not get lost. My twin might kill me if I do.
  • Set up Travel To and From the Airport: I honestly just don’t want to leave my car at the airport. So I’m going to use a service to get there and back. It’s practically the same as leaving my car. Plus, I have to be at the airport at 4:30 AM to get to Cali. I don’t think it would be safe for the rest of the world if I’m driving.

Those are the big things that I need to plan! Not to mention finishing presents for birthdays and getting travel-sized items to take with me. It’s going to be an exciting trip – both in finishing preparing for the official vacation and actually going. I can’t wait for this adventure (only a good adventure with good outcomes and happy feels).

What about you, dear readers? Any fun trips coming up soon? Feel free to share your fave destinations or can’t-live-without travel tips below!

Love,
Brittany

Leave a Reply

